2026 comparison · UK buyers
CarVouch vs HPI check: which full vehicle history check is right for you?
Published by CarVouch · Last reviewed: 7 October 2026 · HPI prices checked: 7 October 2026
Get Experian provenance data, full MOT analysis and AI risk scoring for £9.99 with CarVouch Full Vehicle Check: about half the price of HPI's full check (£19.99 as of October 2026).
CarVouch
£9.99
Full Vehicle Check
HPI full check*
£19.99
As of October 2026
Feature-by-feature comparison
CarVouch Full Vehicle Check vs HPI's full check, as each company lists it on its own website. HPI® is a registered trademark; we compare products descriptively for buyers researching options.
| Feature | CarVouch Full Vehicle Check | HPI full check* |
|---|---|---|
| Full check price | £9.99 | £19.99 |
| Multi-pack discount | 3 for £24.99 · 10 for £59.99 | 3 for £29.99 (MultiCheck) |
| Cheaper option | Free scan £0 (MOT, mileage, advert red flags, DVLA data; no finance, stolen or write-off data) | Basic Check £9.99 (no guarantee; mileage discrepancies and write-off details not included) |
| Finance / stolen / write-off data | Experian (write-offs from MIAFTR, Cat A, B, S, N) | HPI's own database |
| Data guarantee | £20,000 Experian Data Guarantee, 12 months | Up to £30,000 |
| Full MOT history | Yes: every test since 2005, with AI analysis of advisories and failures | Yes: every MOT with mileage, advisory notes and pass/fail |
| Mileage check | Yes: mileage consistency across MOT readings | Yes: mileage discrepancies |
| Previous keepers / plate changes | Yes | Yes |
| VIN check | Yes | Yes (VIN/chassis check) |
| Import / export / scrapped | Yes | Scrapped car check |
| Logbook (V5C) check | Not stated on the provider's page | Yes |
| Safety recall data | Separate free recall check | Yes |
| Valuation | Not included | Guide valuation where available |
| Salvage auction records | Yes, with photos where available | Not stated on the provider's page |
| AI risk score (0–100) and advert red-flag scan | Yes | Not stated on the provider's page |
| Expiry | Checks never expire; no subscription | Not stated on the provider's page |
* HPI prices and guarantee as of October 2026: £19.99 for one full HPI Check, 3 for £29.99 (MultiCheck), as advertised on hpicheck.com (checked 7 October 2026). HPI's prices may have changed since, so check its site before you buy. HPI features are as listed on hpicheck.com on 7 October 2026; a blank cell means the item is not stated on that page, so we make no claim either way. CarVouch prices are our current prices. CarVouch is not affiliated with HPI Ltd or Solera. Comparing more providers? See HPI check alternatives.
Where CarVouch wins
About half the price
Full Vehicle Check at £9.99, about half the price of HPI's full check (£19.99 as of October 2026), with Experian-backed provenance included.
AI analysis of MOT history
Every MOT test since 2005 with failures and advisories from DVSA, interpreted by AI. HPI also lists full MOT history; hpicheck.com does not list AI analysis of MOT advisories.
AI risk score
A single 0–100 score combining MOT trends, mileage consistency, and advert signals — built for buyers before they view the car.
Advert red flags
Paste the seller's listing and we scan for high-pressure phrases, vague history claims, and warning patterns. hpicheck.com does not list an advert scan.
Salvage auction records with photos
Every Full Vehicle Check includes salvage auction records with photos where available, helping you spot hidden damage before you view.
Checks never expire
Buy a single check or a pack; there is no subscription and unused checks never expire.
Where HPI still has an edge
Brand recognition. HPI says it has been protecting car buyers since 1938. If you are selling a car, some buyers expect to see an “HPI check” by name. CarVouch is a newer brand offering a full vehicle history check — not an HPI product.
Valuation and logbook check. HPI's full check includes a guide valuation where available and cross-checks the V5C number and issue date you enter. CarVouch does not include a valuation.
Consumer guarantee amount. HPI advertises up to £30,000 on its full check (as of October 2026). CarVouch Full Vehicle Check includes Experian’s £20,000 Data Guarantee (12 months) — see Experian’s official terms.
If you want analysis before you travel to a viewing, run a free CarVouch scan first, then a full vehicle history check before paying any money to a seller. If you want the larger guarantee, compare the £30,000-guarantee options on our HPI check alternatives page.
What does “HPI check” mean?
“HPI check” is often used generically in the UK to mean a vehicle history check that searches finance registers, stolen vehicle records, and insurance write-off databases, alongside DVLA keeper data. HPI Ltd owns the HPI® trademark, and HPI Check uses HPI's own database. HPI is a commercial brand owned by Solera, not an official or government check. Other providers (including CarVouch) offer their own full vehicle history checks under their own branding, using licensed industry data such as Experian's.
Before paying any deposit on a used car, you should confirm: no outstanding finance, not stolen, not written off (or accept the category), consistent mileage, and that the VIN on the car matches the V5C logbook. CarVouch’s free tier helps with MOT and mileage; the Full Vehicle Check adds Experian provenance in one report.
When to use which: use the free CarVouch scan when you first find an advert, to decide whether the car is worth viewing. Run a full provenance check (a CarVouch Full Vehicle Check, an HPI Check or another full vehicle history check) once you like the car and before you pay a deposit.
Want to know exactly what a full vehicle history check shows, without the comparison? See the full vehicle history check page, the CarVouch pricing guide, or read how we source data in our disclaimer.
Frequently asked questions
Yes. The CarVouch Full Vehicle Check is a full vehicle history check covering outstanding finance, stolen records, insurance write-offs (MIAFTR), keepers, plate changes, VIN and import/export/scrapped markers, using Experian data rather than HPI's. It costs £9.99 and includes Experian's £20,000 Data Guarantee for 12 months.
As of October 2026, hpicheck.com listed a full HPI Check at £19.99 as of October 2026, 3 for £29.99 (MultiCheck) and a Basic Check at £9.99 without its guarantee. A CarVouch Full Vehicle Check is £9.99 (3 for £24.99 · 10 for £59.99): about half the price of HPI's full check (£19.99 as of October 2026). HPI's prices can change, so check hpicheck.com for its current price.
No. CarVouch uses Experian data for finance, stolen and write-off records, while HPI Check uses HPI's own database. CarVouch is not HPI and is not affiliated with HPI Ltd or Solera.
HPI. hpicheck.com advertises a guarantee of up to £30,000 on its full check (as of October 2026), while CarVouch's Full Vehicle Check includes Experian's £20,000 Data Guarantee for 12 months, subject to Experian's terms.
Yes. As of October 2026, hpicheck.com listed full MOT history (every MOT with mileage, advisory notes and pass/fail) and a mileage discrepancy check in its full HPI Check; its Basic Check leaves out mileage discrepancies. CarVouch also shows every MOT test since 2005 and adds an AI analysis of advisories and failures, in both the free scan and the Full Vehicle Check.
A full vehicle history check searches commercial databases to show whether a car has outstanding finance, is recorded as stolen, has been written off, has had plate changes, or has been imported, exported or scrapped. CarVouch's version costs £9.99 and adds full DVSA MOT history, a mileage consistency check and an AI risk analysis.
You can get part of one free. The free CarVouch scan shows DVSA MOT history, mileage readings, tax status, advert red flags and a 0–100 risk score with no sign-up. Finance, stolen and write-off records come from commercial databases, so they need a paid check such as the £9.99 Full Vehicle Check.
"HPI clear" is wording sellers often use for a clean HPI result. CarVouch does not use the HPI trademark for its reports; each CarVouch report shows a pass, warning or fail per category so you can see exactly what was checked, and you should still match the VIN and V5C in person before buying.
Start with a free check today
Enter any UK registration. Get MOT history, mileage analysis, and AI risk signals in seconds — then upgrade to a Full Vehicle Check from £9.99.