Skip to content

2026 comparison · UK buyers

HPI check alternatives: UK vehicle history checks compared (2026)

Published by CarVouch · Last reviewed: 7 October 2026 · Prices checked: 7 October 2026

Disclosure

This comparison is published by CarVouch, one of the products compared. HPI® and hpi check® are trademarks of HPI Ltd / Solera. CarVouch is not affiliated with HPI Ltd, Solera, the AA, the RAC, Total Car Check or carVertical.

The short answer

An HPI Check costs £19.99 for one full check, or 3 for £29.99 with MultiCheck (hpicheck.com, 7 October 2026). Several UK alternatives check the same core risks (outstanding finance, stolen, insurance write-off and mileage):

  • Choose the AA or RAC check if you want HPI's own data at a lower single price. Both say their checks are provided by or powered by HPI, and both cost £14.99 for a full check.
  • Choose Total Car Check Gold if you are checking several cars on a budget. It costs 3 for £14.99 or 5 for £19.99 and includes a £30,000 guarantee and salvage history.
  • Choose CarVouch if you want MOT and advert analysis before you view, plus an Experian finance, stolen and write-off check in the same report for £9.99. Its guarantee is £20,000, which is smaller than the £30,000 offered by HPI, the AA, the RAC and Total Car Check Gold.
  • Stay with HPI if a buyer or seller asks for an "HPI check" by name, or if you want HPI's guide valuation and the £30,000 guarantee from the original brand.

"HPI check" is often used in the UK as a general name for a full vehicle history check. HPI is a commercial brand (HPI Ltd, part of Solera), not an official or government check. For a head-to-head on price, data and guarantee, see CarVouch vs HPI.

HPI check alternatives at a glance

UK full vehicle history checks compared. Prices and features checked 7 October 2026 on each provider's own website. HPI first as the baseline, then alphabetical. Prices change, so check each provider's site before you buy.
Feature HPI Check (baseline) AA Vehicle Check carVertical (GB) CarVouch Full Vehicle Check RAC Vehicle History Check Total Car Check Gold
Single full check £19.99 £14.99 Not stated on the provider's page £9.99 £14.99 (Full Check) Not stated on the provider's page
Multi-check price 3 for £29.99 (MultiCheck) 5 checks at £6 each Not stated on the provider's page 3 for £24.99 · 10 for £59.99 Multi Check £29.97 3 for £14.99 · 5 for £19.99
Cheaper or free option Basic Check £9.99 (no guarantee; mileage discrepancies and write-off details not included) Not stated on the provider's page Not stated on the provider's page Free scan £0 (MOT, mileage, advert red flags, DVLA data; no finance, stolen or write-off data) Basic Check £9.98 (no guarantee; no mileage, MOT history or write-off details) Silver £3.99 · free basic check (stolen status and 20+ data points)
Data source for finance / stolen / write-off HPI HPI ("Our vehicle checks are provided by HPI Limited") Over 1000 international sources (registries, insurers, law enforcement, garages) Experian HPI ("Powered by HPI") plus RAC breakdown data DVLA, DVSA, police and insurance databases (as described on its site)
Data guarantee Up to £30,000 Up to £30,000 (HPI guarantee) Not stated on the provider's page £20,000 Experian Data Guarantee, 12 months Up to £30,000 on qualifying claims (Full and Multi; not Basic) £30,000 (Gold)
Full MOT history Yes: every MOT with mileage, advisory notes and pass/fail Not stated on the provider's page Not stated on the provider's page Yes: every test since 2005, with AI analysis of advisories and failures Yes (Full and Multi) Yes: full MOT history and MOT mileage
Mileage check Yes: mileage discrepancies Yes: incorrect mileage Yes: mileage verification Yes: mileage consistency across MOT readings Yes: mileage discrepancies (Full and Multi) Yes: MOT mileage and enhanced mileage from industry sources
Valuation Guide valuation where available Not stated on the provider's page Market value estimate Not included Not stated on the provider's page Yes (Gold)
Salvage records Not stated on the provider's page Not stated on the provider's page Not stated on the provider's page Salvage auction records, with photos where available Not stated on the provider's page Salvage history (Gold)
Extras listed Logbook (V5C) check; VIN/chassis check; safety recall data Registration certificate (V5C) match; VIN confirmation; logbook information verification Damage and write-off records; loans or debts; stolen records; timeline of key events Advert red-flag scan; 0–100 risk score; seller questions; viewing checklist; PDF report; checks never expire RAC breakdown data; average running costs; RAC Shop vouchers up to £35 (Full) / £55 (Multi) Ex-taxi search; log book loans check; free VIN check
Source hpicheck.com , checked 7 Oct 2026 theaa.com/vehicle-check , checked 7 Oct 2026 carvertical.com/gb/pricing , checked 7 Oct 2026 carvouch.co.uk/pricing, /full-vehicle-check, /ai-info , reviewed 7 Oct 2026 rac.co.uk car data check , checked 7 Oct 2026 totalcarcheck.co.uk/Prices, /Car-History-Check, /BuyVouchers , checked 7 Oct 2026

A blank cell means the item is not stated on the provider page we checked. It does not mean the provider can't offer it, so we make no claim either way. carVertical's GB price is shown by its site in the browser and wasn't in the page we captured, so it is left out. Total Car Check's pages list two different single Gold prices, so only its packs are shown.

Why people look for HPI check alternatives

  • Price. A single HPI Check is £19.99. Full checks from the AA and RAC cost £14.99, and a CarVouch Full Vehicle Check is £9.99 (sources in the table).
  • Checking several cars. HPI's MultiCheck is 3 for £29.99. Total Car Check Gold is 3 for £14.99, and CarVouch is 3 for £24.99.
  • Wanting more than provenance. Some buyers want MOT analysis, a valuation or salvage records in the same report. Which extras are included varies by provider (see the table).

The alternatives, one by one

AA Vehicle Check: HPI data at a lower single price

£14.99 for one check, or 5 checks at £6 each. The AA says its checks are "provided by HPI Limited" and cover outstanding finance, stolen, insurance write-off, incorrect mileage, previous owners, plate transfers and V5C/VIN checks, with up to £30,000 guarantee (theaa.com/vehicle-check, 7 October 2026).

carVertical: international data sources

carVertical says its reports draw on "over 1000 international sources" and cover damage and write-offs, mileage, loans or debts, stolen records and a market-value estimate. It also says reports aren't available for free (carvertical.com/gb/pricing, 7 October 2026). Check its site for the current GB price.

CarVouch Full Vehicle Check: for checking before you view

£9.99, 3 for £24.99 or 10 for £59.99. Checks never expire, and there is no subscription. It adds Experian finance, stolen, write-off (MIAFTR), keeper and plate history, import/export flags and salvage auction records to the free DVSA MOT and DVLA scan, plus an AI risk score and advert red-flag scan. It includes Experian's £20,000 Data Guarantee for 12 months (carvouch.co.uk/ai-info).

RAC Vehicle History Check: HPI data plus RAC breakdown data

Basic £9.98, Full £14.99, Multi £29.97. The RAC says the check is "powered by HPI", includes 13 alerts (such as finance, theft, write-offs and mileage), and adds RAC breakdown data and average running costs. Full and Multi include up to £30,000 data guarantee (on qualifying claims) and RAC Shop vouchers (rac.co.uk, 7 October 2026).

Total Car Check Gold: for checking several cars cheaply

Gold costs 3 for £14.99 or 5 for £19.99. It includes outstanding finance, written-off, salvage history, stolen, plate changes, previous keepers, valuation and ex-taxi search, with a £30,000 guarantee. The free basic check shows stolen status and 20+ data points (totalcarcheck.co.uk/Prices, /Car-History-Check, 7 October 2026).

Where CarVouch is stronger

  • Before-viewing analysis. The free scan reads every MOT test since 2005, checks mileage consistency and scans the advert text for red flags, with no account needed. None of the other provider pages checked here lists an advert-text scan.
  • Single-check price. £9.99, against £19.99 for HPI and £14.99 for the AA and RAC full checks.
  • Salvage auction records with photos where available, in every Full Vehicle Check.
  • Checks never expire, and there is no subscription.

Where the alternatives are stronger

  • Guarantee size. HPI, the AA, RAC Full/Multi and Total Car Check Gold all advertise up to £30,000. CarVouch's Experian guarantee is £20,000 for 12 months.
  • Multi-check price. Total Car Check Gold's 3 for £14.99 is cheaper than CarVouch's 3 for £24.99.
  • Valuation. HPI (where available), Total Car Check Gold and carVertical include a valuation or market-value estimate. CarVouch does not.
  • Brand recognition. Some sellers and buyers ask for an "HPI check" by name. CarVouch is a newer brand and uses Experian data, not HPI's.
  • Account needed. You need a CarVouch account to buy and view a Full Vehicle Check (the free scan needs none).

Which one fits you?

  • One car in mind and you want the HPI database: the AA or RAC full check gives you HPI-provided data for £14.99.
  • Shortlisting four or five cars: Total Car Check Gold (5 for £19.99) has the lowest per-car price here. The AA's 5 checks (£6 each) use HPI data. CarVouch's 10 for £59.99 suits larger shortlists.
  • You want to rule cars out before you travel to a viewing: run CarVouch's free scan on each advert, then a full vehicle history check on the one you like before paying a deposit.

Worked example: checking 3 cars (prices checked 7 October 2026)

ProviderCost for 3 full checks
AA£44.97 as 3 single checks (or £30.00 for 5 checks)
CarVouch£24.99 (3-pack)
HPI£29.99 (MultiCheck)
Total Car Check Gold£14.99 (3-pack)

carVertical and the RAC Multi Check are left out: their pages don't state a price for exactly 3 checks.

How we compared

We compared the published single-check price, multi-check price, named data source, guarantee and listed report contents for each provider. Each fact was taken from the provider's own website on 7 October 2026 and is linked in the table. We did not buy test reports from competitors. Prices and inclusions change, so check each provider's site before you buy. We review this page at least every 90 days.

Frequently asked questions

What is a good alternative to an HPI check?

Any full vehicle history check that covers outstanding finance, stolen records and insurance write-offs does the same core job. The AA (£14.99) and RAC (£14.99) full checks use HPI data, while CarVouch (£9.99, Experian data) and Total Car Check Gold (3 for £14.99) use other data; competitor prices checked on 7 October 2026.

What is the cheapest alternative to an HPI check?

For several cars, Total Car Check Gold had the lowest pack price we found: 3 checks for £14.99 or 5 for £19.99, with a £30,000 guarantee (totalcarcheck.co.uk, 7 October 2026). For one car, a CarVouch Full Vehicle Check is £9.99 and the AA and RAC full checks are £14.99, compared with £19.99 for a single HPI Check.

Is the RAC car check an HPI check?

The RAC says its Vehicle History Check is "powered by HPI" and adds RAC breakdown data. The Full Check costs £14.99 and includes up to £30,000 data guarantee on qualifying claims (rac.co.uk, 7 October 2026).

Is the AA vehicle check the same as an HPI check?

The AA says its vehicle checks are provided by HPI Limited. A single AA check costs £14.99, or £6 each when you check 5, with up to £30,000 guarantee (theaa.com/vehicle-check, 7 October 2026).

Does an HPI check include MOT history and mileage?

Yes. On 7 October 2026 hpicheck.com listed full MOT history (every MOT with mileage, advisory notes and pass/fail) and a mileage discrepancy check in its full HPI Check. Its £9.99 Basic Check does not include mileage discrepancies or write-off details.

Can I check a car for finance, stolen and write-off records for free?

Not fully with the providers compared here. Free checks cover MOT and DVLA data, and Total Car Check's free basic check also shows stolen status, but finance and write-off records need a paid check. CarVouch's free scan covers MOT history, mileage and advert red flags, and its £9.99 Full Vehicle Check adds Experian finance, stolen and write-off data.

Where does CarVouch get its finance, stolen and write-off data?

From Experian, not HPI. Every CarVouch Full Vehicle Check includes Experian's £20,000 Data Guarantee for 12 months, subject to Experian's terms. CarVouch is not affiliated with HPI Ltd or Solera.

Do I need the VIN for a vehicle history check?

You can run these checks from the registration number, but you should match the VIN on the car to the V5C logbook before you pay. HPI asks you to enter the VIN and V5C details to activate its £30,000 guarantee (hpicheck.com, 7 October 2026), and CarVouch's Full Vehicle Check includes a VIN check.

Which HPI check alternative has the biggest guarantee?

The AA, RAC (Full and Multi Check) and Total Car Check Gold all advertise up to £30,000, the same as HPI. CarVouch's Experian Data Guarantee is £20,000 for 12 months (all checked 7 October 2026).

Start with a free scan

Enter a UK registration to see MOT history, mileage and advert red flags in seconds.

No sign-up · Full Vehicle Check from £9.99